Mark Zuckerberg, Benedict Cumberbatch, Cameron Diaz Attend 2015 Breakthrough Prizes

Check out interviews and footage from the Red Carpet at  NASA Ames at the 2nd Annual Breakthrough Prize Awards. Every year, the event celebrates and rewards the scientists who have achieved breakthrough discoveries in life sciences, physics and mathematics. These people have helped us gain insights into humanity and the universe around us that will help us cure diseases, improve our lives and push society forward. Watch Cameron Diaz, Mark Zuckerberg, Kate Beckinsale, Eddie Redmayne, Benedict Cumberbatch, Gavin Newsom, Yuri Milner, Thomas Keller, & Gary Ruvkin during the arrivals.

The Breakthrough Prize Foundation announced the recipients of the 2015 Breakthrough Prizes in Fundamental Physics and Life Sciences. These distinguished winners, along with previously announced recipients in the Mathematics category, each receive a $3 million prize.

The 2015 Breakthrough Prizes in Life Sciences recognize C. David Allis, Victor Ambros, Alim Louis Benabid, Gary Ruvkun, Jennifer A. Doudna and Emmanuelle Charpentier.

The 2015 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics is a shared honor with Saul Perlmutter,Brian P. Schmidt, and Adam Riess leading a collaboration of 51 total prize recipients splitting the $3 million.

The previously announced 2015 Breakthrough Prize winners in Mathematics who were also honored at the ceremony are Simon Donaldson, Maxim Kontsevich, Jacob Lurie, Terence Tao and Richard Taylor.

“This year’s life sciences laureates have made some spectacular discoveries, from a new kind of gene to a Parkinson’s treatment that has improved the lives of many,” Anne Wojcicki said. “It’s energizing to be in the company of such brilliant and fertile minds.”

The awards were presented at an exclusive Gala co-hosted by founders Sergey Brin and Anne Wojcicki, Jack Ma and Cathy Zhang, Yuri and Julia Milner, Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan and Vanity Fair editor Graydon Carter at NASA’s Ames Research Center.  Seth MacFarlane hosted The 2nd Annual Breakthrough Prize Ceremony which also featured Kate Beckinsale, Benedict Cumberbatch, Cameron Diaz, Jon Hamm and Eddie Redmayne as presenters.

You must be logged in to post a comment